top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturezgastel

Greetings from the INMM President!


Hello, INMM community! The Communications Committee is launching a new look and feel for the Communicator and they are starting out with introductions of the current Executive Committee, so you get to hear from me one more time!


For those who don’t know me, I started my career in 1993 at the Pantex Plant in Amarillo, Texas as a “Safeguards Statistician”. The quotes are there because the term “safeguards” is used in various ways and do not always convey a common understanding. In current IAEA Nuclear Security lingo, this role was the equivalent of Nuclear Material Accounting and Control (NMAC) for Security. I developed statistical sampling plans for nuclear material inventories as well as assisted with performance testing of security systems, processes, and procedures.


In 1997, I moved to Albuquerque, NM USA to the US Department of Energy’s National Training Center where I was an MC&A Trainer for national level courses serving the DOE complex. In addition, I inherited the Security Vulnerability Assessment Curriculum and other statistical sampling and performance testing topics. At the same time, I helped stand up the INMM’s Southwest Chapter, hosting their first annual meeting at the training center and later moving it to Taos, New Mexico. This chapter benefited from being the epicenter of a large portion of the US DOE complex and has been a model for sustainable INMM Chapters!


In 2001, I moved to Washington State to work at the Pacific Northwest National Laboratory where I spent many years working in the US/Russian MPC&A program as well as in management overseeing PNNL’s National Security Safeguards and Security capabilities. I also served on the executive committee of the INMM Pacific Northwest Chapter for most of my time there to include President of the chapter. Unlike the US Southwest Chapter, the Northwest Chapter is challenged by a larger geographical separation in its constituents, leading to difficulties in bringing the full chapter together regularly and creating a cohesive chapter. I’m glad to see that the current leadership, however, has a lot of passion around sustaining the chapter and is working hard to integrate the various stakeholders. I also took on the role of Chair of the MC&A Division of the INMM during this time and in 2014 stepped down to serve as a Member-at-Large of the Institute.


Finally, in 2016, I moved to Oak Ridge, TN to work for Oak Ridge National Laboratory, continuing to support multiple US Safeguards and Security efforts within DOE/NNSA and other agencies. I currently steward the Safeguards and Security Technology capabilities at the laboratory as well, overseeing technology research and development for both international and domestic safeguards and security stakeholders across the US Government and IAEA. At the same time, in 2016 I my tenure as Member-at-Large expired and I was then voted into the role of Vice President of the INMM, leading to my current role as President.


I’d like to thank you for your interest and support of the INMM and, as always, if you have any suggestions or concerns, feel free to contact me or any members of the Executive Committee at any time.


Sincerely,

Cary Crawford

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page